Layered Lemons

I found recipe number 1 to use up my left over lemons. I had to look long and hard for something that required more lemon juice than zest. I was worried that the obviousness of the lemon would be overpowering, leaving a soggy, sour cake. I was totally wrong! The actual cake has a subtle vanilla twinge and there is only a light lemon flavor in the filling and frosting. Because I was forced to used a square pan, I had a shortage of frosting. I tried to cover the unseemly naked cake with strawberries, which added contrasting color and flavor. I think I’ll bring this cake back around for easter or during the summer. The recipe I tweaked from allrecipes.com didn’t really have a title so i’m calling it..

Layered Lemon Cake

Lemon Cake with Lemon Filling & Lemon Butter Frosting
Originial recipe yields: One 4 layer 8 inch cake 
 
 

Ingrediants

Cake –

2 cups all purpose flour

2 tsps baking powder

1 tsp salt

1/2 cup butter (1 stick)

1 1/4 cups white sugar

3 eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 cup milk

 Filling –

1 tbsp grated lemon zest

1/2 cup fresh lemon juice (*I used abt 2.5 lemons)

1 tbsp cornstarch

6 tbsp butter

3/4 cup white sugar

4 egg yolks, beaten

Frosting –

4 cups confectioners’ sugar

1/2 cup  butter, softened

2 tbsp fresh lemon juice

1 tsp grated lemon zest

2 tbsp milk

* I added about 1/2 a pkg of strawberries for contrasting flavor & color

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease and flour two 8 inch round pans (I only had 1 available so I ended up settling for a square one). In a bowl mix together the flour, baking power, and salt. Then set aside.

Cake

2. In a large bowl, cream (beat) together butter and sugar until light and fluffy (abt 5 minutes). Then beat in each egg one at a time, then add the vanilla. Take your flour mixture and add it alternativly with the milk (add a little bit of one, then a little bit of the other). Combine well.

3. Pour batter into prepared pans and bake in the oven for 30 minutes, or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean. Removed and allows to cool on wire racks for 10 minutes. Then invert and allow to cool completely on the racks.

Filling

4.  In a medium saucepan, mix together the lemon zest, lemon juice, and cornstarch until smooth. Mix in butter (I zapped it in the microwave), sugar, and then bring to a boil over medium heat. Keep the mixture at a boil for 1 minute now stirring constantly.

In a small bowl, beat egg yolks with a wire whisk until smooth. Whisk in a small amount of the hot lemon mixture. Then, beating rapidly, add the egg mixture to the saucepan. Reduce heat to low; cook for 5 minutes, stirring constantly until thick.

5. Pour this mixture in a medium bowl, then press plastic wrap tightly around the stop to avoid filming while it cools. Cool to room temperature then place in the refrigerator for 3 hours (*I left it in for about 5 hours while I went to work, then nuked it in the microwave so it spread more easily).

Frosting

6. In a large bowl, mix confectioners’ sugar, butter, lemon juice, and lemon zest until smooth. Beat in milk and increase speed and continue to beat until light and fluffy.

Assembly
 

7. Using a long serrated knife, split each cake horizontilly, resulting in 4 layers (*I had 2 round and 2 square, but you should have 4 nicely matching round layers). Place 1 layer, cut side up, on the serving platter of your choice. Spread the first layer with half of the filling (the stovetop mixture). Add the second layer, then spread with 1/2 cup of frosting (I didn’t really measure, just used enough to cover). Add the third layer and spread with the remaining filling. Add final layer and frost the tops and sides with the remaining frosting. Refrigerate until time to serve.

* For the future: Having 2 square layers stretched the filling out too much. I either have to make more filling or use only circular pans. My frosting wasn’t soft enough so I should probably either add more milk or beat for a longer period of time.

About bitbybitcraft

After a childhood of unfinished projects, I am making up for lost time by throwing myself into lots of projects today. I have always lived in a household with lots going on and travelled all over the place. I enjoy photography, pencil/charcoal sketching, reading, cooking, fashion, animals, and organizing.

Leave a Reply

