Limoncello & a broken wrist

My wrist isn’t exactly broken, but It might as well be. I guess I didn’t think properly about how much effort it would take to zest 15 lemons without an actual zest-er. I had to resort to a peeler that has its fair share of use. Using my thumb to hold the utensil in place and my remaining digits to hold and peel the lemons, I managed to get enough for my first limoncello try!

Limoncello is an Italian lemon liquor, served chilled as an after-dinner “digestivo”. I first tried it at my grandmother’s house and thought it would be a good gift to give my aunts and uncle when they come over for Thanksgiving dinner. I finally settled on a recipe that called for 15 lemons and two 750 ml bottles of vodka. The reciepe calls for 100 proof vodka, but being on a college budget, I settled for 80 proof Absolute. I am going to add extra sugar and hopefully that will offset any lingering alcohol taste. I went in search of empty clear bottles to properly showcase my product and was totally frustrated by the lack of selection at my local stores. I had to choose between large plastic modern pitchers and glass wine decanter without lids. So instead I went to the internet and found these simple, vintage looking bottles for a just over $2 a bottle, excellent. So as I wait for those to arrive, I started on my concoction because it takes 10 day to finish the first step.

At the end of phase 1, I have come the relization that I now have to find something to do with these naked lemons.

About bitbybitcraft

After a childhood of unfinished projects, I am making up for lost time by throwing myself into lots of projects today. I have always lived in a household with lots going on and travelled all over the place. I enjoy photography, pencil/charcoal sketching, reading, cooking, fashion, animals, and organizing.

Leave a Reply

